Church Officers



Session and Board of Deacons

As there were in Old Testament times elders for the government of the people, the New Testament church provided persons with particular gifts to share in discernment of God’s Spirit and governance of God’s people. These church members, called ruling elders, provide leadership for our congregation, along with Pastor Dari and the Board of Deacons.   

The Session   

The tasks of the Session at First Presbyterian Church-Benton are divided into four areas of responsibility:  Evangelism, Discipleship, Worship, and Stewardship.  Please click on
to view a chart of the Session structure.


Class of 2018

Class of 2019

Class of 2020

Marcia Snyder, Clerk of Session Bill Ballard Donna Anderson
Sandra Malin Sam Parnell James Jennings
Kate Reecer Wes Patton Jim Morehead
Lukas Turner  
Certain elders are nominated, ordained, and installed to perform the following areas of responsibility.


Disbursing Treasurer – Jimmy Fields

Manages accounts payable, account reconciliation, treasurer report, brokerage accounts, and payroll.  

Receiving Treasurer – James Counts

Manages offering count, bank deposits, pledge records, memorial records, and acknowledgments.  

Stated Clerk – Marcia Snyder

Develops, manages, and preserves full and accurate Session records, including membership rolls and denominational reporting.


Board of Deacons

The ministry of deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of compassion, witness, and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, or anyone in distress. Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, sincere compassion, and sound judgment are chosen for this ministry.


The Board of Deacons at First Presbyterian-Benton is composed of twelve individuals who serve a three-year term.

The Board of Deacons fulfills its mission through a system of committees and ministry/service activities. Members of the Board of Deacons are as follows:   

Class of 2018

Class of 2019

Class of 2020

April Counts, Moderator Kellie Fugere Mary Ann Callison
Richard Galbraith Amy Patton Dorcas Hollicer
Janice Ray Dori Wilson Jenny Parnell
Edna White Jo Wright   



Illness and Bereavement

Deacons visit members in hospital and arrange needed assistance to patient/family.

Mission and Outreach

Deacons organize mission projects; provide to the congregation a list of the needs for the Deacon’s Pantry, Safe Haven, and CJCOHN; coordinate and maintain Deacon’s Food Pantry; maintain food distribution record.

Nurture and Congregational Care

Deacons offer/arrange transportation to church activities when needed; provide meal to local families at birth of child or moving day.